logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
thsobota  
#1 Posted : Monday, December 9, 2019 1:20:13 PM(UTC)
thsobota

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/23/2019(UTC)
Posts: 5
United States
Location: New York

I am a first time user of Seal Report

I installed Seal Report on two different computers. The first is our SBS 2011 Small Business Server. The second is a Windows 7 computer that is part of the domain. I logged in as administrator on both of these computers. Windows pop up with two different script errors.

I am connecting to a MSSQL Database on our SBS2011 Server.

"Check Data Sources" gives the result : "Youpi, pas d'erreur !"

View and Check SQL gives "SQL checked Successfully"

Here is the content of the Script Error Pop-up Window.

Script Error
!An error has occurred in the script on this page.
Line: 1
Char: 1120
Error: Expected identifier, string or number
Code: 0
URL: file:///C:/ProgramData/SEAL%20Report%20Repository/Views/Scripts/bootstrap-datetimepicker.min.js

And

Script Error
!An error has occurred in the script on this page.
Line: 564
Char: 5
Error: Expected identifier, string or number
Code: 0
URL: file:///C:/ProgramData/SEAL%20Report%20Repository/Views/Scripts/common.js

I then installed Seal Report on my laptop that is not part of the Domain and created a simple report. I connected it to the same Database on our SQL Server on our MS SBS 2011 Server. This report executes properly without the errors above.

I searched the Seal Report Forum and I did not find any reference to this type of error.

What is causing this Script Error and how is it fixed?
epf  
#2 Posted : Monday, December 9, 2019 2:04:19 PM(UTC)
epf

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Joined: 12/20/2013(UTC)
Posts: 917
Switzerland

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 154 time(s) in 148 post(s)
It looks like you have JavaScript error, this can be if you are using a browser with security limitations (like IE)...
I recommend to use Chrome to test.

Then you can debug the errors by viewing the debugger in the browser (F12) and check for any errors (e.g. your firewall may filter javascript download)...



thsobota  
#3 Posted : Monday, December 9, 2019 2:41:42 PM(UTC)
thsobota

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/23/2019(UTC)
Posts: 5
United States
Location: New York

I installed Chrome on Our SBS2011 server and made it the default browser. I still get the errors. I am executing the report from the Seal Report Designer.

I don't understand how Seal Report uses the Browser or how I can use the browser to debug when executing the script from Seal Report Designer.



epf  
#4 Posted : Monday, December 9, 2019 3:11:08 PM(UTC)
epf

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Joined: 12/20/2013(UTC)
Posts: 917
Switzerland

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 154 time(s) in 148 post(s)
The Seal Report Designer application uses .Net the System.Windows.Forms.WebBrowser component which relies on the current Browser installed on the computer...
Technically:
The WebBrowser control is a managed wrapper for the ActiveX WebBrowser control, and uses whichever version of the control is installed on the user's computer.

So you can not debug this using the Seal Report Designer...it is strange that it does not work, are you sure of your installation ? is there some security limitations on you computer ?
Did you try as Administrator ?
thsobota  
#5 Posted : Monday, December 9, 2019 4:52:53 PM(UTC)
thsobota

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/23/2019(UTC)
Posts: 5
United States
Location: New York

I have been logged in as administrator for all of the trials that I have made.

I have confirmed that Chrome is now the Default Browser.

What type of security limitations would I be looking for and where would I look?



epf  
#6 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2019 7:36:18 AM(UTC)
epf

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Joined: 12/20/2013(UTC)
Posts: 917
Switzerland

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 154 time(s) in 148 post(s)
Yes I am surprised that you got such error, we have no experience for this...
You can have more information at:
https://docs.microsoft.c...er-control-windows-forms

but normally, this control has full trust, so it depends on your Windows installation, perhaps they are too old as they have an old style IE browser.

Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.