logo

Warning: The forum is now for consultation only. Please use GitHub Discussions to post any questions or comments.

Welcome Guest ! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Sathish  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 12:41:48 PM(UTC)
Sathish

Groups: Registered
India

I am new to seal reports.
Am connecting to DB2 database (as ODBC connection) as par one of the posts on this site and trying to fetch records in the range of 25000, with 5 columns of data. Each time I try to do this I run into a different set of problem. Once it did not load any thing and application stood still, other times it loaded data but got stuck at processing and so on.
Am I over loading the application by trying to pull 25k records in one shoot. Are these kind of issues some thing that any one has come across?
epf  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 1:36:13 PM(UTC)
epf

Groups: Administrators
Switzerland

Was thanked: 205 time(s) in 198 post(s)
This is a classic issue for a reporting tool when you reach a huge number of records...and Seal does not keep part of the records on the server.
It has no really sense to show 25000 lines to an end-user, the HTML document will be very big for your browser, and the JavaScript for sorting and filtering will take a lot of CPU....
Normally, we did performances tests till 5000 records.

So I would say first to use aggregate functions in your SQL to let the database engine do the work.

You can also check this post: https://sealreport.org/f...g=posts&t=93#post195
And you might also check the ODBC driver properties of DB2, I experienced that with an Oracle ODBC driver: I had to configure the network packet size to have reasonable performances on huge queries.

Good luck.
Sathish  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 6:07:47 AM(UTC)
Sathish

Groups: Registered
India